Home >> About OSG


The OSG was inaugurated in June 1990 by the then Secretary of Health, Nana Ackuoko Sarpong.  A constitution committee, having prepared the constitution for the Society, agreed to invite Prof. C. O. Quarcoopome to serve as the first President of OSG. Prof. Quarcoopome had just returned to the country after a year’s consultancy job with WHO and had really not been involved in initiating the birth of OSG.  The first Executive Committee Members were:

President    Prof. C. O. Quarcoopome
Vice President Dr. Michael Adu-Darko
General Secretary Dr. Maria Hagan
Assistant Secretary  Dr. Edith Ackuaku (now Dogbe)
Treasurer Dr. Isaac Sagoe

They served for two-terms of two-years each, that is 1990-1992 and 1993-1994

The Membership of the Society was about fourteen. We had two Associate Members – Drs. David Adiepena and Dr. Mrs. Vera Essuman.

The OSG was concerned with the inadequate personnel for eye care service delivery, cost of drugs for glaucoma and the need for support for study travels and medical exhibitions. Some resolutions passed in the past include:

The Ministry of Health be requested to find placings for postgraduate residents in ophthalmology to enable them complete their course.
2. Government be requested to waive duties and taxes on essential drugs needed for the treatment of blinding diseases requiring life-long treatment especially glaucoma.
3. Government be requested to sponsor study travels, conferences, medical exhibitions so that ophthalmologists can keep up with advances in their area of specialty.

The second Executive to follow had Dr. Michael Adu-Darko as President, Dr. Christine Ntim-Amponsah as Vice President and Dr. Edith Dogbe as General Secretary. They served till 2000.

The third Executive had Dr. Maria Hagan as President, Dr. Stephen Akafo as Vice President, Dr. James Addy as the General Secretary.

The Membership of OSG has been growing steadily, with a current membership of about 78 Ophthalmologists.